Legal deposit of published books in Australia  

In Australia, a legal deposit requires publishers to deposit publications with the National Library of Australia and the state of territory library where the publisher is based.

The State Library of Queensland requests that publishers deposit all ebooks published in Queensland. We will deposit a PDF version of your book via National eDeposit after publication.

National eDeposit requires us to state who owns the intellectual content of the ePublication. To adhere to the UQ Intellectual Property Policy we will assign intellectual ownership to:-

  • The University of Queensland – for books created specifically for use as a teaching material to use in a course.
  • The authors or editors – for books that are scholarly works not specifically created for a course.


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Open Textbooks @ UQ guide and templates Copyright © by UQ Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book